“Avenue of Dreams”

Besides the South Loop Connection and Classic Movie Man blogs, I have worked as a writer, editor, and project manager for several book publishers. Some of my experience includes working in product development on both fiction and nonfiction projects.

The Pursuit of Lucy Banning, Book One in the “Avenue of Dreams” series was released May 1, 2012.  I developed the series idea, did the principle research, and then pitched the concept to author-friend, Olivia Newport, who did the actual writing.

Historical Trilogy
The three-book “Avenue of Dreams” series is historical fiction set on Chicago’s Prairie Avenue during the late nineteenth century. Although fiction, the historical backdrops are real, including the planning and opening of the World’s Columbian Exposition of 1893. Book One’s heroine, Lucy Banning is on the Board of Lady Managers charged with the management of the Women’s Building at the fair.

Check out the review of The Pursuit of Lucy Banning in USAToday.

Available Everywhere
The novel is available at bookstores everywhere as well as at Amazon.com.

Book Two Available Now!
The Dilemma of Charlotte Farrow, Book Two in the “Avenue of Dreams” series is available now. It can be ordered from Amazon.com by clicking here.

Charlotte Farrow, maid in the wealthy Banning household on Chicago's opulent Prairie Avenue, has kept her baby boy a secret from her employers for nearly a year. But when the woman who has been caring for her son abruptly returns him, Charlotte must decide whether to come clean and face dismissal or keep her secret while the Bannings decide the child’s fate. Can she face the truth of her own past and open her heart to a future of her own? Or will life’s tragedies determine the future for her?

This compelling story set against the glittering backdrop of the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition captures the tension between the wealthy residents of the famed avenue and the hardworking servants who made their lives comfortable. Author Olivia Newport expertly portrays the interaction between the social classes while creating a story of courage, strength, and tender romance.

Book Three Available Now! 

The Invention of Sarah Cummings—Sarah Cummings has one goal in life—to break into Chicago’s high
society. Desperate to stop serving dinner and to start eating at society tables, Sarah alters cast-off gowns from the wealthy Banning women to create lustrous, flattering dresses of her own. On a whim at a chance meeting, she presents herself as Serena Cuthbert, weaving a fictitious past to go with her fictitious name. But as she gets closer to Simon Tewell, the director of St. Andrew’s Orphanage, Sarah finds that she must choose between the life she has and the life she dreams of. Will she sacrifice love to continue her pretense? Or can Simon show her that sometimes you don't have to pretend for dreams to come true?

Olivia Newport brings us back to Prairie Avenue to explore the place where class, social expectations, and romance come together. Readers will enjoy following the intrepid Sarah as she searches for true love in a world of illusions. Read the review in Romantic Times.

You can pre-order the paperback book and/or Kindle versions now by clicking here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...